Reserve Bank of Australia Annual Report – 1989 Head Office Management

Deputy Governor
M.J. Phillips, A.M.[*]

M.R. Hill

Financial Markets

Head of Function W.E. Norton

Domestic Markets

Chief Manager Richard Battellino
Deputy Chief Manager R.W. Rankin Market Operations, Oversight of Market
Managers B.J. Potter Registries of Inscribed Stock
P.W. Stebbing Credit and Deposit Markets


Chief Manager J.F. Laker
Deputy Chief Manager R.W. Ellis Foreign Exchange Operations, Management of International Reserves
Manager K.M. Hall Oversight of Foreign Exchange Dealers, Market Analysis, Relations with International Institutions

Financial System Division

Chief of Division G.J. Thompson

Bank Supervision

Head of Bank Supervision D.J. Kelleher
Chief Officer L.J. Austin
Deputy Chief Officers D.J. Prees A.S. Cheok Prudential Supervision of Banks, Research and Policy Development
Assistant Chief Officers L.R. Coventry J.F. Butlin

Financial Institutions

Chief Officer W.E. Davies
Assistant Chief Officers P.F. Barry Operations of Non-Bank Financial Intermediaries J.M. Veale Payments System, Research and Consumer Issues


Head of Function I.J. Macfarlane
Deputy Chief Manager S.A. Grenville
Senior Economists B.L. Gray G.R. Stevens Money and Finance, Domestic Economic Conditions, Overseas Conditions, Special Projects, Publications


Head of Function M.G. Bush


Senior Manager I.B. McKenzie
Manager A.J. Molloy Financial Accounting, Costing, Budgeting and Payments
Deputy Manager B.J. Thompson

Building Services

Senior Manager J.R.R. Cook
Managers D.J.M. Dalglish R.W. Hayes Premises Security

Currency and Banking

Senior Manager J.K. Colditz

Managers N.C. Mackrell Customer Banking
P.J. Mair Currency
A.R. Moore Banking Services, Gold
B.A. Noble Cash Operations

Systems and Technology

Senior Manager G.F. Willsony
Managers W.N. Hands J.F. Henderson Systems Management Services, Office Systems
J.O. Wightman Data Centre
V.F. Connolly Projects

Administrative Services


Chief Manager P.S. Ferguson
Managers W.N. Winterton Staff Appointments, Staff Development, Superannuation Fund
D.A. Gow Staff Services, Industrial

Principal Industrial Officer G.J. Rawstron


Secretary D.H. Emanuel
Deputy Secretaries J.B. Nairn Board, Community Relations
J.R. Blackley Archives, Communications

Chief Solicitor D.E. McIntyre

Manager P.J. McWilliam Media & Information

Audit Office

Direct access to Governor
Controller of Audit R.L. Adams


Following retirement of R.A. Johnston A.C. on 18 July 1989, Mr Phillips is performing the duties of the Governor. [*]


Note Printing Branch

General Manager D.B. Addison (until 25 August 1989)
Manager, Marketing and Administration and Deputy General Manager R.G. Pearson
Manager, Production I.R. Bassett
Manager, Engineering D.S. Sanderson
Manager, Research and Development B.A. Hardwick
Hume Highway, Craigieburn
Telephone: (03) 303 0444

New South Wales

Manager A.D. Cornish
Deputy Manager W.A. Maley
Registrar of Stock G.G. Munn
65 Martin Place, Sydney
Telephone: (02) 234 9333


Manager N.T. Bevan
Deputy Manager J.F. Salter
Registrar of Stock W.A. Flynn
60 Collins Street, Melbourne
Telephone: (03) 653 8555


Manager A.P. Eviston
Deputy Manager J.A. Simpkins
Registrar of Stock W.E. Holt
King George Square, Brisbane
Telephone: (07) 224 9111

Western Australia

Manager H.I. Stebbins
Deputy Manager B.W. Parry
Registrar of Stock K.R. Brown
45 St George's Terrace, Perth
Telephone: (09) 320 0211

South Australia

Manager Marcus Diamond
Deputy Manager M.M. Martin
Registrar of Stock B.J. Alderson
182 Victoria Square, Adelaide
Telephone: (08) 228 8100


Manager N.J. Mathews
Deputy Manager P.S.W. Leeds
Registrar of Stock P.A. Sealy
111 Macquarie Street, Hobart
Telephone: (002) 30 1301

Australian Capital Territory

Manager K.W. Stevens
Deputy Manager I.R. Bowden
Registrar of Stock R.V. Kemmis
20-22 London Circuit, Canberra City
Telephone: (062) 67 1900

Northern Territory

Manager and Registrar of Stock J.F. Milliss
Deputy Manager C.V. Catlin
6 Bennett Street, Darwin
Telephone: (089) 81 4888

United Kingdom

Chief Representative in Europe C.C. Procter
Deputy Chief Representative in Europe Francis Campbell
Manager and Registrar of Stock K.W. Dawton
10 Old Jewry, London
Telephone: (441) 606 2541

New York — Representative Office

Representative J.S. Pearson
Deputy Representative Jeff Oughton
70 Pine Street, New York
Telephone: (1212) 363 2711