Reserve Bank of Australia Annual Report – 1978 Reserve Bank of Australia

Head Office: 65 Martin Place, Sydney

Governor: H.M. Knight

Deputy Governor: D.N. Sanders

Advisers: T.J. Bartley, L.T. Hinde, A.S. Holmes, O.B.E., D.R. Parr

Assistant Adviser: D.G. Badger

Senior Manager R.A. Forsyth
Manager W.M. Gordon
Manager (Internal Accounts) R.L. Adams
Manager (E.D.P.) H.J. Pavey

Currency and Banking Operations Department

Senior Manager D.G. Badger
Manager J.S. Pearson
Manager (Banking Operations) H.R. Ferguson
Manager (Rural Credits) G.W. Keep
Manager (Note Issue) K.F. Thompson

Services Department

Senior Manager F.G. Waite
Manager Paul Givney
Controller of Stores J.M. Cooling

Accounting, Operations and Services

Chief Manager D.R. Parr

Banking and Finance Department

Chief Manager J.S. Mallyon

Banking Division

Deputy Chief Manager N.J. Brady
Manager H.I. Stebbins

Financial Corporations Division

Deputy Chief Manager B.J. McSharry
Manager Marcus Diamond
Manager J.K. Colditz

Exchange Control Department

Senior Manager G.G. Welch
Manager G.R. Leighton
Manager D.G. McKenna

International Department

Chief Manager M.J. Phillips
Deputy Chief Manager D.J. Kelleher
Manager D.J. Cleary
Manager John Beach
Deputy Manager A.D. Cornish

Personnel Department

Chief Manager L.T. Hinde
Deputy Chief Manager Gwyn Lewis
Manager E.V. Fleming
Controller of Audit R.B. Murray
Controller of Management Services (vacant)
Deputy Manager (vacant)
Senior Administrative Officer C.C. Procter

Research Department

Chief Manager A.S. Holmes, O.B.E.
Manager D.W. Stammer
Senior Economist P.D. Jonson
Principal Research Economist W.E. Norton

Secretary's Department

Secretary R.J. Dowey
Deputy Secretary (vacant)
Senior Solicitor N.G. Smith
Assistant Secretary R.W. Davidson
Manager, Press Office W.P. Sharp

Securities Markets Department

Chief Manager M.R. Hill
Deputy Chief Manager M.G. Bush
Manager J.T. Oram
Deputy Manager M.E. Freeland

Note Issue Department

General Manager G.M.E. Sceats
Chief Manager, Research and Development M.F.W. Brown
Manager, Administrative Division P.E. Morriss
Chief Engineer C.S. Swales
(115 Victoria Parade, Fitzroy)

New South Wales

Manager for New South Wales C.M. McClellan
Deputy Manager for New South Wales C.K. Griffiths
Registrar of Stock B.A. Hopkins
65 Martin Place, Sydney


Manager for Victoria W.G. Moore
Deputy Manager for Victoria T.A. Fowler
Registrar of Stock D.L. Neary
60 Collins Street, Melbourne


Manager for Queensland R.C. Cooper
Deputy Manager for Queensland A.P. Eviston
Registrar of Stock D.S.B. Meldrum
King George Square, Brisbane

South Australia

Manager for South Australia D.R. Richmond
Deputy Manager for South Australia L.N. Nash
Registrar of Stock P.W. Loftus
182 Victoria Square, Adelaide

Western Australia

Manager for Western Australia N.T. Bevan
Deputy Manager for Western Australia K.J. Hodge
Registrar of Stock (vacant)
45 St. George's Terrace, Perth


Manager for Tasmania R.F. Jones
Assistant Manager for Tasmania R.J. Brown
Registrar of Stock J.B. Burdon
111 Macquarie Street, Hobart

Australian Capital Territory

Manager for the Australian Capital Territory S.C. Done
Deputy Manager for the Australian Capital Territory (vacant)
Registrar of Stock W.R. Young
20–22 London Circuit, Canberra

Northern Territory

Manager and Registrar of Stock R.W. Haddrick
Accountant R.K. Kulmar
6 Bennett Street, Darwin

United Kingdom

Chief Representative in Europe J.A. Kirkwood
Deputy Chief Representative in Europe W.E. Davies
Manager and Registrar of Stock R.H. Tudor
8/10 Old Jewry, London