Skip to content


Past & Present Governors

Photograph of Glenn Stevens

Glenn Robert Stevens
Governor since 18 September 2006
Present term ends 17 September 2016

Photograph of Ian Macfarlane

Ian John Macfarlane AC
September 1996 – September 2006

Photograph of Bernie Fraser

Bernard William (Bernie) Fraser
September 1989 – September 1996

Photograph of Bob Johnston

Robert Alan (Bob) Johnston AC
August 1982 – July 1989

Photograph of Harold Knight

Sir Harold Murray (Harry) Knight KBE DSC
July 1975 – August 1982

Photograph of John Phillips

Sir John Grant (Jock) Phillips KBE
July 1968 – July 1975

Photograph of Herbert Coombs

Herbert Cole (Nugget) Coombs
January 1960 – July 1968

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Governors

In 1911, legislation established the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. In 1959, this original body corporate was preserved as the Reserve Bank of Australia in legislation, specifically to carry on the central banking functions.

Photograph of Herbert Coombs

Herbert Cole (Nugget) Coombs
January 1949 – January 1960

Photograph of Hugh Traill Armitage

Hugh Traill Armitage CMG
July 1941 – December 1948

Photograph of Harry Sheehan

Sir Henry John (Harry) Sheehan KBE
February 1938 – March 1941

Photograph of Ernest Riddle

Sir Ernest Cooper Riddle KBE
October 1926 – February 1938

Photograph of James Kell

James Kell
October 1924 – October 1926

Photograph of Denison Miller

Sir Denison Samuel King Miller KCMG
June 1912 – June 1923