Media Release RBA/ESA Economics Competition Awards 2016

The Reserve Bank of Australia is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 RBA/ESA Economics Competition for undergraduate students at an accredited Australian university. The competition was run in conjunction with the Economic Society of Australia (ESA) and the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked how a low interest rate environment might affect conventional monetary policy transmission channels, and to discuss alternative economic policy options. High-quality essays were received from students studying at a wide range of universities.

Congratulations to our winners:

  • First prize ($2,000): Elizabeth Baldwin, University of Queensland
  • Second prize ($1,000): Shaun Ji-Thompson, University of Queensland
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Timothy Grey, University of Sydney

A presentation ceremony, to be hosted by the Reserve Bank of Australia, will be held in October 2016.


Media and Communications
Secretary's Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033