Media Release RBA/ESA Economics Competition Awards 2015

The Reserve Bank of Australia is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 RBA/ESA Economics Competition for undergraduate students at an accredited Australian university. The competition was run in conjunction with the Economic Society of Australia (ESA) and the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked to discuss the implications of falling commodity prices, and the transition of Australia's mining industry from the investment phase to the production phase. Numerous high quality essays were received from a wide range of universities. Congratulations to our winners:

  • First prize ($2,000): Scott Brian Tilbury, The University of New England
  • Second prize ($1,000): Hugh Alexander Oliver, Monash University
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Jim Yue Xu, The University of New South Wales

A presentation ceremony, to be hosted by the Reserve Bank of Australia, will be held in October 2015.


Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033