Media Release RBA/ESA Essay Competition Awards 2013

The Reserve Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 RBA/ESA Economics Competition for Australian undergraduate university students. The essay competition was run in conjunction with the Economic Society of Australia (ESA) and the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked to discuss trends in Australian households' saving and the implications for macroeconomic policy and financial stability. A number of high quality essays were received this year from a range of universities. Congratulations to our winners:

  • First prize ($2,000): Supriya Mehta, University of Wollongong
  • Second prize ($1,000): Michael Read, The University of Sydney
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Isabel Hartstein, The University of New South Wales

These prizes will be presented at a ceremony at the Reserve Bank of Australia in October 2013.


Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033