Media Release RBA Economics Competition 2011 Awards

The Reserve Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the 2011 RBA Economics Competition for Australian undergraduate university students. The essay competition was again run in conjunction with the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked to discuss the economic consequences of natural disasters. The winners' entries stood out among the essays that were submitted by students from seven different universities across Australia. Congratulations go to:

  • First prize ($1500): Shuangyu Christine Ma, the Australian National University
  • Second prize ($750): Stephanie Parsons, Griffith University
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Hans Zhu, the University of Melbourne

These prizes will be presented at a ceremony at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney in November.


Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 8111
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033