Media Release RBA Economics Competition 2010 Awards

The Reserve Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 RBA Economics Competition for Australian undergraduate university students. The essay competition was again run in conjunction with the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked to discuss trends in the real exchange rate over the past decade and to consider the economic implications for Australia. The winners' entries stood out among the essays that were submitted by students from 10 different universities across Australia. Congratulations go to:

  • First prize ($1500): Ganesh Viswanath Natraj, the University of Western Australia
  • Second prize ($750): George Cunningham, the University of Queensland
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Ashvini Ravimohan, the University of New South Wales

These prizes will be presented by the Governor at a ceremony at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney later this month.

The Reserve Bank looks forward to sponsoring a similar essay competition next year, with the question and other details to be announced in May 2011.


Dr Jonathan Kearns
Head of Economic Research Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 8301

Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 8111
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033