Media Release RBA Economics Competition 2009 Awards

The Reserve Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 RBA Economics Competition. This year's competition, run in conjunction with the UNSW Economics Society, asked Australian university students to consider the responses of policy makers to the global financial crisis.

The winners’ entries stood out among the total of 31 eligible essays that were submitted by students from 9 different universities across Australia. Congratulations go to:

  • First prize ($1500): Madeline Ehler, the University of Queensland
  • Second prize ($750): Richard Swain, the University of Sydney
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Varun Chhabra, the University of New South Wales

These prizes will be presented by the Governor at a ceremony at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney in October.

The Reserve Bank looks forward to sponsoring a similar essay competition next year, with the question and other details to be announced in May 2010.


Dr Christopher Kent
Head of Economic Research Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 8804

Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033