Media Release Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959
Sanctions Against Zimbabwe – Amendment to the Annex

The Reserve Bank of Australia, following a directive from the Australian Government under the Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959, currently administers financial sanctions against certain persons associated with the Mugabe regime in Zimbabwe.

The Australian Government has reviewed the list of persons subject to financial sanctions and has directed the Reserve Bank to remove 4 persons and add 75 new persons and 4 entities to the Annex of names. Amendments have also been made to 16 entries on the previous list. Attachment A provides details of these changes. The updated Annex now contains 254 persons and 4 entities.

Any transactions involving the transfer of funds or payments to, by the order of, or on behalf of any person listed in the Annex are prohibited without prior approval from the Reserve Bank.

UPDATE: On 7 March 2012, responsibility for the administration of Australia's autonomous financial sanctions was transferred from the RBA (under the Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959) to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) (under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011).
This change was announced in RBA Media Release No 2012-05. As a result, the content of this media release is no longer current and any accompanying annexes and/or attachments have been removed. For all enquiries about Australia's autonomous financial sanctions regime, including the current list of sanctioned individuals and entities, refer to the DFAT website.


Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9551 8033