Media Release Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959
Sanctions Against Zimbabwe – Amendment to the Annex

The Reserve Bank of Australia, following a directive from the Australian Government under the Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959, currently administers financial sanctions against certain ministers and senior officials of the Government of Zimbabwe.

At the direction of the Australian Government, the Reserve Bank has expanded the list of individuals restricted by these financial sanctions to include new members of, and persons associated with, the Government of Zimbabwe. Under this directive 127 individuals have been added to the Annex of names.

All transactions involving the transfer of funds or payments to, by the order of, or on behalf of such persons are prohibited.

UPDATE: On 7 March 2012, responsibility for the administration of Australia's autonomous financial sanctions was transferred from the RBA (under the Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations 1959) to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) (under the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011).
This change was announced in RBA Media Release No 2012-05. As a result, the content of this media release is no longer current and any accompanying annexes and/or attachments have been removed. For all enquiries about Australia's autonomous financial sanctions regime, including the current list of sanctioned individuals and entities, refer to the DFAT website.


Manager, Media Office
Information Department
Reserve Bank of Australia

Phone: +61 2 9551 9720
Fax: +61 2 9221 5528