List of Symposium Participants

Zeti Akhtar Aziz Bank Negara Malaysia Halim Alamsyah Bank Indonesia

Muhammad Al-Jasser Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency
Saeed Al-Qahtani Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency

Elisabeth Ardaillon-Poirier European Central Bank
Loi Bakani Bank of Papua New Guinea
Ric Battellino Reserve Bank of Australia

Michael Blythe Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Alan Bollard Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Adam Cagliarini Reserve Bank of Australia
Frank Campbell Reserve Bank of Australia

Jaime Caruana Bank for International Settlements
Stephen Cecchetti Bank for International Settlements

KC Chakrabarty Reserve Bank of India

Norman TL Chan Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Terrence Checki Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Lillian Cheung Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Jule Chong Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Deborah Cobb-Clark Australian National University

Tim Colebatch The Age

Max CordenUniversity of MelbourneSelwyn CornishAustralian National UniversityAndrew CrockettJPMorgan Chase InternationalKevin DavisUniversity of MelbourneGuy DebelleReserve Bank of AustraliaEttore DorrucciEuropean Central Bank

William Dudley Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Teresa Dueñas Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
Mardi Dungey University of Tasmania
Malcolm Edey Reserve Bank of Australia

Mohamed El-Erian Pacific Investment Management Company LLC

Luci Ellis Reserve Bank of Australia

Saul Eslake Grattan Institute

Bill Evans Westpac Banking Corporation

LIST OF SYMPOSIUM PARTICIPANTS

Ted Evans Westpac Banking Corporation

Feng Runxiang The People's Bank of China, Sydney Office

Miguel Fernández Ordóñez Banco de España

Andrew Filardo BIS Representative Office for Asia and the Pacific

Stanley Fischer Bank of Israel

Renee Fry Australian National University Ross Garnaut University of Melbourne Ross Gittins The Sydney Morning Herald Goh Gek Choo Monetary Authority of Singapore Charles Goodhart London School of Economics Australian National University **Bob Gregory**

Stephen Grenville Lowy Institute for International Policy

Tony Grimes Central Bank and Financial Services Authority of Ireland

David Gruen Australian Treasury

Diwa C Guinigundo Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Xolile P Guma South African Reserve Bank

Pentti Hakkarainen Bank of Finland

Tim Harcourt Australian Trade Commission

Don Harding La Trobe University A Viva Hardiyanto Bank Indonesia

David Hargreaves Reserve Bank of New Zealand Access Economics Pty Limited Ian Harper

Ken Henry Australian Treasury Philipp Hildebrand Swiss National Bank

Reserve Bank of New Zealand **Bernard Hodgetts**

Warren Hogan Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited

Paul Jenkins Bank of Canada Bank of Korea Namyi Kang

Reserve Bank of Australia Christopher Kent Stephen Kirchner Centre for Independent Studies

Hans-Helmut Kotz Deutsche Bundesbank Anne Krueger Johns Hopkins University

Hiroaki Kuwahara Bank of Japan

John Laker Australian Prudential Regulation Authority University of Southern Queensland Allan Layton

Bank of Korea Seonatae Lee

Kirdan Lees Reserve Bank of New Zealand Andrew Leigh Australian National University Cao Li The People's Bank of China Reserve Bank of Australia Philip Lowe

LIST OF SYMPOSIUM PARTICIPANTS

Ian Macfarlane formerly Reserve Bank of Australia Siosi Mafi National Reserve Bank of Tonga Warwick McKibbin Australian National University

Jose Martins de Matos Banco de Portugal

Alan Mitchell Australian Financial Review

Atsushi Miyanoya Bank of Japan

Madhusudan Mohanty Bank for International Settlements

Rita Morena Bank Indonesia

Frank Moss European Central Bank Mu Changchun The People's Bank of China

Bank Indonesia Darmin Nasution Banque de France Christian Nover Central Bank of Cyprus **Athanasios Orphanides**

National Australia Bank Limited Alan Oster

Yusuke Ozeki Bank of Japan

Frank Packer Bank for International Settlements University of Technology, Sydney Adrian Pagan Norberto Pagani Central Bank of Argentina

Won Shik Park Bank of Korea

John Piggott University of New South Wales **Gunter Pleines** Bank for International Settlements

National Bank of Belgium Guy Quaden John Quiggin University of Queensland

Denton Rarawa Central Bank of Solomon Islands Bank for International Settlements Fli Remolona

Tony Richards Reserve Bank of Australia Macquarie Bank Limited Rory Robertson Reserve Bank of Australia Chris Rvan

Bank of Mexico Manuel Sánchez

Don Sanders formerly Reserve Bank of Australia Michael Schetzel Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Bank of Thailand Chirathep Senivongs Jeffrey Sheen Macquarie University Masaaki Shirakawa Bank of Japan

Andrew Stoeckel The Centre for International Economics

Michael Stutchbury The Australian Kaweevudh Sumawong Bank of Thailand

Heng Swee Keat Monetary Authority of Singapore

Miranda Tam BIS Representative Office for Asia and the Pacific

Reserve Bank of Australia

Glenn Stevens

Ju Ouan Tan Monetary Authority of Singapore

Masaru Tanaka Bank of Japan

Odo Tevi Reserve Bank of Vanuatu

Bruno Tissot Bank for International Settlements

Jean-Claude Trichet European Central Bank

Paul Tucker Bank of England Ignazio Visco Banca d'Italia Perry Warjiyo Bank Indonesia Bank of Thailand Tarisa Watanagase

Joseph Yam formerly Hong Kong Monetary Authority Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Janet Yellen

Bank of Korea Byeong-Ha Yoo

Sunny Yung Hong Kong Monetary Authority 7hou Xiaochuan The People's Bank of China 7hu Jun The People's Bank of China

Acknowledgment

The editors are grateful to Wendy Baker, Danièle Di Paolo, Paula Drew, Sarah-Jane Edis, Joanne Flynn, Natasha Kowalski, Rachel Williams and the staff of Information Department, Secretary's Department and Economic Research Department for much help in organising the Symposium and producing this volume.