## **List of Conference Participants**

Jillian Broadbent	B
Company Director and	
Reserve Bank Board Member	
Horace 'Woody' Brock	
President	
Strategic Economic Decisions Inc.	R
Alan Cameron, AM	
Chairman	
Australian Securities and Investments	R
Commission	
Xiurong Cao	
Deputy Division Chief	
Central Bank Division	_
International Department	Lı
People's Bank of China	
Jeffrey Carmichael	
Chairman	-
Australian Prudential Regulation	St
Authority	
W Max Corden	
Paul H Nitze School of Advanced	D
International Studies	
The Johns Hopkins University	
Rawdon Dalrymple, AO	
Chairman	Ri
Asean Focus Group Pty Ltd	
Gordon de Brouwer	
Chief Manager	K
International Markets and Relations	
International Department	
Reserve Bank of Australia	
Michael Dooley	R
Professor of Economics	
University of California, Santa Cruz	
Peter Drysdale, AM	
Executive Director	Pe
Australia-Japan Research Centre	
Australian National University	

arry Eichengreen John L. Simpson Professor of Economics and Professor of Political Science University of California, Berkeley ob Ferguson Chairman BT Funds Management oss Garnaut, AO Director Asia Pacific School of Economics and Management Australian National University uke Gower Economist Economic Research Department Reserve Bank of Australia tephen Grenville Deputy Governor Reserve Bank of Australia avid Gruen Head of Economic Research Department Reserve Bank of Australia icardo Hausmann Chief Economist Inter-American Development Bank en Henry **Executive Director** Economic Group The Treasury obert McCauley Representative Office for Asia and the Pacific Bank for International Settlements eter McCawley Deputy Director General AusAID

Ian Macfarlane	Teo Swee Lian	
Governor Reserve Bank of Australia	Executive Director Financial Sector Promotion	
Warwick McKibbin Director of Economics Division Asia Pacific School of Economics and	Department Monetary Authority of Singapore Michael Thawley	
Management Australian National University	Senior Adviser, International Office of the Prime Minister	
Masayuki Matsushima	David Vines	
Executive Director Bank of Japan Adrian Pagan	Director ESRC Research Programme on Global Economic Institutions Institute of Economics and Statistics University of Oxford	
Professor of Economics Research School of Social Sciences		
Australian National University	Paul Volcker	
and Reserve Bank Board Member Cheul Park	Visiting Professor New York University	
Assistant Governor	Perry Warjiyo	
Bank of Korea	Head of Governor's Office	
Bob Rankin	Bank Indonesia	
Head of International Department	Ian Watt	
Reserve Bank of Australia	Executive Co-ordinator	
Eisuke Sakakibara	Economic, Industry and Resources	
Special Adviser to the Minister of Finance Japan	Policy Group Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet	
Murray Sherwin	Dominic Wilson	
Deputy Governor Reserve Bank of New Zealand	Research Scholar Australia-Japan Research Centre Australian National University	
MR Chatu Mongol Sonakul	Richard Woolcott AC, AO	
Governor Bank of Thailand Tharman Shanmugaratnam Deputy Managing Director (Financial Supervision) Monetary Authority of Singapore	Founding Director Asia Society AustralAsia Centre	
	Joseph CK Yam Chief Executive Hong Kong Monetary Authority	

## Acknowledgment

The editors are very grateful to Pam Dillon, John Dokovic, Paula Drew, Angela Lalopoulos, Amanda Thornton and the staff of Economic Research Department for much help in organising the conference and producing this volume.