Reserve Bank Board

August 2014



Glenn Stevens
BEc (Hons) (Sydney), MA (Western)
Governor and Chair

Governor since 18 September 2006

Reappointed from 18 September 2013 until 17 September 2016

Glenn Stevens has held various senior positions at the Reserve Bank, including Head of Economic Analysis and International Departments and Assistant Governor (Economic), where he was responsible for overseeing economic and policy advice to the then Governor and Reserve Bank Board. He was Deputy Governor from 2001 to 2006. In June 2014, Mr Stevens was awarded a Doctor of Laws honoris causa (LLD) by Western University in Ontario, Canada.

Other Roles

Chair – Payments System Board

Chair - Council of Financial Regulators

Chair – Financial Markets Foundation for Children

Member - Financial Stability Board

Director – The Anika Foundation



Philip Lowe BCom (Hons) (UNSW), PhD (MIT) Deputy Governor and Deputy Chair

Member since 14 February 2012 Present term ends 13 February 2019

Philip Lowe has held various senior positions at the Reserve Bank, including Assistant Governor (Economic) and Assistant Governor (Financial System). He spent two years at the Bank for International Settlements, where he worked on financial stability issues. Dr Lowe has authored numerous papers, including on the linkages between monetary policy and financial stability.



John Akehurst MA (Oxon) Non-Executive Member

Member since 31 August 2007 Present term ends 30 August 2017

John Akehurst has had extensive experience in the oil and gas industry. He held a number of engineering and management positions with Royal Dutch Shell (1976–1996) and as CEO of Woodside Petroleum Ltd (1996–2003). Mr Akehurst is a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers.

Directorships

Chairman – National Centre for Asbestos Related Diseases

Chairman - Transform Exploration Pty Ltd

Director - CSL Limited

Director - Origin Energy Limited

Reserve Bank Board Committee membership

Chair - Audit Committee



Roger Corbett AO BCom (UNSW)

Non-Executive Member

Member since 2 December 2005

Present term ends 1 December 2015

Roger Corbett has had extensive experience in the retailing industry, both within Australia and overseas. He served as the CEO of Woolworths Limited and has held numerous board positions. Mr Corbett is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and the Risk Management Institution of Australasia.

Directorships

Chairman – Fairfax Media Limited

Chairman – Mayne Pharma Group Limited

Director – Wal-Mart Stores Inc

Reserve Bank Board Committee membership

Chair - Remuneration Committee

Member - Audit Committee



John Edwards BA (Sydney), MPhil, PhD (George Washington)

Non-Executive Member

Member since 31 July 2011 Present term ends 30 July 2016

John Edwards brings a combination of business, academic and professional economic experience to the Board. He was Chief Economist for Australia and New Zealand at HSBC Bank for over a decade prior to taking the appointment of Executive Director of Economic Planning and Development for the Bahrain Economic Development Board (2009–2011).

Other Roles

Adjunct Professor – John Curtin Institute of Public Policy, Curtin Business School, Curtin University

Adjunct Professor – University of Sydney School of Business

Visiting Fellow – Lowy Institute for International Policy

Director - Committee for the Economic Development of Australia

Reserve Bank Board Committee membership

Member – Remuneration Committee



Kathryn Fagg BE (Hons) (Queensland), MCom (Hons) (UNSW) Non-Executive Member

Member since 7 May 2013 Present term ends 6 May 2018

Kathryn Fagg has broad and diverse experience across a range of industries, having worked in senior executive roles at Linfox, BlueScope Steel and the ANZ Bank. Earlier, she worked at McKinsey & Co after commencing her career as a petroleum engineer with Esso Australia. She has led businesses in Australia, New Zealand and Asia.

Directorships

Chair - Melbourne Recital Centre

Director – Breast Cancer Network of Australia

Director - Djerriwarrh Investments Limited

Director - Incited Pivot Limited



Martin Parkinson PSM BEc (Hons) (Adelaide), MEc (ANU), MA, PhD (Princeton)

Ex Officio Member

Secretary to the Treasury Member since 27 April 2011

Martin Parkinson was appointed Secretary to the Treasury in 2011. He was Secretary of the Department of Climate Change from its establishment in December 2007, and between 2001 and 2006 was Deputy Secretary of the Australian Treasury, with responsibility for domestic and international macroeconomic issues. In his Treasury career he has worked on issues including taxation policy, labour market and structural reform, and macroeconomic policy and forecasting.

Other Roles

Chair – Advisory Board of the Australian Office of Financial Management

Member – Council of Financial Regulators

Member – Infrastructure Australia

Member - Prime Minister's Business Advisory Council



Heather Ridout AO BEc (Hons) (Sydney) **Non-Executive Member**

Member since 14 February 2012 Present term ends 13 February 2017

Heather Ridout has a strong understanding of public policy and of the manufacturing sector, having previously been Chief Executive of the Australian Industry Group. She has had appointments to key national policy-setting and consultative groups, including as a member of the Henry Tax Review panel, board member of Infrastructure Australia, member of the Prime Minister's Taskforce on Manufacturing and member of the Australian Workforce and Productivity Agency.

Directorships

Chair – Australian Super Trustee Board

Director – Australian Securities Exchange Limited

Director - Note Printing Australia Limited

Director - Sims Metal Management Limited



Catherine Tanna LLB (Queensland) Non-Executive Member

Member since 30 March 2011 Present term ends 29 March 2016

Catherine Tanna has extensive experience in the resources sector with BG Group, Royal Dutch Shell and BHP Billiton. She has held senior executive roles with responsibility for LNG, gas transmission and power-generation businesses across Africa, North Asia, Russia, North America, Latin America and Australia. From April 2012 to the end of June 2014, Ms Tanna was Chairman of BG Australia.

Executive Role

Managing Director - EnergyAustralia

Reserve Bank Board Committee membership

Member - Remuneration Committee