Reserve Bank Board August 2012



Glenn Stevens (Chairman)

Governor since 18 September 2006 Present term ends 17 September 2013

Chairman – Payments System Board Chairman – Council of Financial Regulators Member – Financial Stability Board

De Pre

Philip Lowe (Deputy Chairman)

Deputy Governor since 14 February 2012 Present term ends 13 February 2019



Martin Parkinson PSM

Secretary to the Treasury Member since 27 April 2011





John Akehurst

Member since 31 August 2007 Present term ends 30 August 2017

Director – CSL Limited Director – Origin Energy Limited Director – Securency International Pty Ltd Director – University of Western Australia Business School



Jillian Broadbent AO

Member since 7 May 1998 Present term ends 6 May 2013 Chairman – Reserve Bank Board Audit Committee Member – Reserve Bank Board Remuneration Committee Chair – Clean Energy Finance Corporation Director – ASX Limited Director – Woolworths Limited Chancellor – University of Wollongong



Roger Corbett AO

Member since 2 December 2005 Present term ends 1 December 2015

Chairman – Reserve Bank Board Remuneration Committee Member – Reserve Bank Board Audit Committee

Chairman – Fairfax Media Limited Chairman – Mayne Pharma Group Limited Chairman – PrimeAg Australia Limited Director – Wal-Mart Stores Inc



John Edwards

Member since 31 July 2011 Present term ends 30 July 2016

Adjunct Professor – John Curtin Institute of Public Policy, Curtin Business School, Curtin University Adjunct Professor – University of Sydney School of Business Visiting Fellow – Lowy Institute for International Policy Member – National Workforce and Productivity Agency



Heather Ridout

Member since 14 February 2012 Present term ends 13 February 2017

Employer Director – AustralianSuper Trustee Board Director – Sims Metal Management Member – Climate Change Authority Member – National Workforce and Productivity Agency



Catherine Tanna

Member since 30 March 2011 Present term ends 29 March 2016 Member – Reserve Bank Board Remuneration Committee Chairman – BG Australia Member – Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation Board

Ric Battellino retired from the Board on 13 February 2012 Graham Kraehe AO retired from the Board on 13 February 2012

Resolution Passed by the Board

7 February 2012 Meeting

Ric Battellino

Graham Kraehe AO

Members noted that this was the final meeting for Messrs Battellino and Kraehe, both of whom had served five years on the Board with dedication and professionalism. Their skills, extensive knowledge and experience had contributed enormously to the deliberations of the Board on monetary policy and a range of other matters.

As Deputy Governor and Deputy Chairman of the Board, Mr Battellino had used his outstanding intellect, deep understanding of financial markets and strong grasp of central banking to bring rigorous analysis and astute judgement to the Board's deliberations. As a member of the Reserve Bank Board Audit Committee, including as Chairman for a time, Mr Battellino had also made an important contribution to fulfilling the Board's wider obligations in corporate governance. Mr Kraehe had contributed to the Board's deliberations using his broad commercial experience, specialist knowledge across several industries and thoughtful judgement. These attributes had also been valuable during his period as a member of the Reserve Bank Board Remuneration Committee over the past year or so. Members recorded their appreciation of the contributions of Messrs Battellino and Kraehe to the sound conduct of monetary policy and good governance of the Bank, and wished them well in the future.